dip – hi-camp meets lof-fi (Sigtryggur Baldursson and Jóhann Jóhannsson)

Regular price EUR 12.00

Shipping calculated at checkout.

The one and only release by Icelandic leftfield duo consisting of Jóhann Jóhannson and Sigtryggur Baldsson (The Sugarcubes, Bogomil Font, K.U.K.L.). Features soprano Ásgerður Júníusdóttir, Emiliana Torrini, Jónsi (Sigur Rós), Magga Stína (Reptile) and Pétur Hallgrímsson.

CD Tracklist

1. Drinking With The Fishes
2. The Split
3. Come Out
4. Glands
5. Mind In A Vice
6. To Safely Sail, Past The Bar
7. 10% More Free
8. Fear Of Harmony
9. Trampoline
10. Problematique
11. Love In The Time Of Science
12. Munich Apocalypse
13. Skyscraper Heart
14. Just To Perish On The Rocks

Composed By, Arranged By, Conductor – Dip
Cover, Design [Album Cover Designed] – Goddur
Engineer – Hrannar Ingimarsson, Ivar Bongo, Johann Johannsson*, Luke Gordon
Mixed By – Johann Johannsson*, Luke Gordon

Originally released June 1999 on Icelandic Label Smekkleysa s.m. (Bad Taste), this rare gem is the brainchild of the late film composer Johann Johannsson and Sigtryggur Baldursson, best known as the drummer of the Sugarcubes, the legendary Icelandic avant-pop band.

This was the last of Johann’s projects in the world of pop music before he co-founded experimental think tank-label-art organisation Kitchen Motors and became a film composer.

Dip was originally a studio project started in 1997 when Baldursson, then living and working in the US, started visiting Iceland and collaborating with Johannsson on music originating in grooves that Baldusson had been honing in Madisons Smart Studios. He was producing drum beats for loop-based programs when computers started to become a prominent production tool in studio’s in the mid to late '90s.

Johannsson would then add his soundscapes, having been heavily influenced by 60’s Italian horror film scores, introducing subtle synth and keyboard work. Together they discovered emerging stars of Icelandic music at the time to and invited them to collaborate on vocals. Guest appearances included Jonsi from Sigur Ros, Emiliana Torrini, Magga Stina, Sara Marti and Asgerdur Juniusdottir.

The result was a timeless study in experimental pop/indie music, complete with a dash of humour and inventive twists. Contributions were made by many instrumentalists from the late 90´s scene in Iceland and the record mixed by Luke Gordon (Spacer).

Available on CD.